Texting and driving are two words that should never go together. However, we all see it on a fairly regularly basis—a driver weaving in and out of traffic, going highway speeds, with their cell phone in hand frantically hammering the keys. There is no conversation that is important enough to put your life or someone else’s life in danger.
Like many states, Michigan has taken a stance against texting and driving. It is important that people understand these laws and the implications if you break them. Here, we will examine the rules associated with cell phone use and driving in the state of Michigan. Familiarizing yourself with the law could help protect you from ending up in court over a cell phone citation.
Many states have totally banned the use of cell phones while driving altogether, which includes simply talking on the phone. However, Michigan has yet to be successful at passing legislation that bans all cell phone use. Instead, Michigan allows certain municipalities to incorporate their own laws associated with cell phone use. In fact, other than Detroit, you can legally talk on your cell phone at any point while you are driving. However, be aware that if you are in a wreck while you are talking on your cell phone you could receive a citation for careless driving. Remember, cell phone use is considered a distraction, whether it is legal to use it or not.
No drivers are permitted to send, read, or type messages while they are behind the wheel. However, there are exceptions in certain cases. For example, a person may text if they are trying to seek help for a car crash, want to report criminal activity, or if they are a police officer carrying out their duties. The law understands that there are some instances in which it may be necessary to text for assistance, but those situations are specifically outlined by statute.
The implications for texting and driving are intended to help deter cell phone use. The first offense results in a $100 fine and the second offense is $200. Costs such as this can certainly add up over a period of time. People should be aware that texting while driving is considered a primary offense which means an officer can pull you over if he or she witnesses you texting and driving even if you are not committing some other crime.
If your or someone you know has been injured due to another driver’s negligence, reach out to Nickola Law. Our years of experience can assist you in your case from start to finish. Located in Flint, Michigan, they are a reputable criminal defense team that will work hard for you in court. Call today for a consultation about your case. Each case deserves the time and commitment that we can provide our clients.
© Copyright 2019. Nickola Law | NUVEW
Nickola Law past results are not express or implied prediction of future success, and should not be construed as such. Past results cannot guarantee future performance. Any result in a single case is not meant to create an expectation of similar results in future matters because each case involves many factors, therefore, results will differ on a case-by-case basis. This website is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of an attorney/client relationship. Testimonials are not a guarantee, warranty, or prediction of the outcome of your case. By providing certain contact information herein, you are expressly authorizing the recipient of this message to contact you via the methods of communication provided.
*Personal Injury Only
How did we do?
Note: Your review may be shared publicly.