DUI Lawyer in Oakland County

DUI Lawyer in Oakland County

Driving while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs is against the law in Oakland County, the state of Michigan, and the country as a whole. Driving under the influence, or DUI, is a very serious offense, and one will be penalized harshly if convicted of a DUI charge in the state. If you are facing DUI charges in Oakland County and aren’t sure where to turn next, call our experienced criminal defense lawyers for an initial consultation and guidance you can trust.

Michigan Driving Under the Influence Laws

As published on the website of the Michigan Secretary of State, there are a number of driving under the influence crimes recognized throughout Michigan, and none of them are referred to as “DUI.” Instead, consider the following Michigan driving under the influence laws and crimes:

Operating while visibly impaired (OWVI). A person commits an OWVI offense when, due to alcohol or drugs, their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle is visibly impaired.

Operating while intoxicated (OWI). An OWI charge is basically what other states call a DUI charge, and is committed when a person meets one, or a combination of, the following conditions:

  • Has alcohol or drugs in their system that substantially affect the ability to safely operate a vehicle;
  • Has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit of .08 percent or above; or/and
  • Has a BAC of .17 percent or above.

Each violation is different, and is recognized differently as such.

Operating with any presence of a Schedule I drug or cocaine (OWPD). An OWPD charge is what it sounds like; a charge that is issued when a person is operating a motor vehicle with any Schedule I drug or cocaine in their body, even a small amount that does not appear to be impairing.

Operating with any alcohol in the system under age 21 (zero tolerance). The state’s zero tolerance law makes it illegal for a person under the legal drinking age to operate a vehicle if they have a BAC of .02 percent or above.

Penalties for Drunk Driving Charges in Oakland County

If you are facing any of the above criminal charges, you need an attorney; the consequences of the above crimes can be very serious. To be sure, an operating while intoxicated (OWI) first offense may result in:

  • Jail time of up to 93 days;
  • Fine of up to $500; and
  • License suspension of up to six months.

Of course, a secondary or subsequent charge is more harshly penalized. Further, do not forget that an OWI offense will show up on your permanent record, potentially negating your ability to secure employment or other opportunities in the future.

Working with an Oakland County Criminal Defense Lawyer

The best thing that you can do to protect yourself and your future when you are facing OWI charges in Oakland County is to contact an experienced DUI attorney. An attorney will guide you through the criminal process and provide you with the legal representation you need to escape the worst of consequences. To schedule a free consultation with the office of Nickola Law, please send us a confidential message today or call our law offices at your convenience.

810-767-54201015 Church St.
Flint, MI 48502



Nickola Law past results are not express or implied prediction of future success, and should not be construed as such. Past results cannot guarantee future performance. Any result in a single case is not meant to create an expectation of similar results in future matters because each case involves many factors, therefore, results will differ on a case-by-case basis. This website is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of an attorney/client relationship. Testimonials are not a guarantee, warranty, or prediction of the outcome of your case.

*Personal Injury Only