Michigan Police Officer Faces Drunk Driving Charges

Michigan Police Officer Faces Drunk Driving Charges

Posted on:
May 22, 2018
Criminal Defense
Posted By:
Share This Post:

It can be shocking to see a police officer—someone whose job is to uphold the law—face criminal charges, but it happens. No one is immune from the law. Law enforcement officials are human and they do make mistakes from time to time. A Michigan police officer is currently on administrative leave after he was caught drinking and driving.

The Battle Creek police officer was off duty during the early morning of February 11 when he was involved in a single-vehicle car accident in Springfield. He struck a utility pole and was arrested for drunk driving. He was not injured and nobody else was involved.

The police officer has been charged with operating while intoxicated (OWI). He is currently on administrative leave while the sheriff department investigates. He has been with the department for 17 years.

Michigan Substance Abuse Laws

Throughout Michigan, far too many people are injured or killed every year due to car crashes involving drugs and alcohol. Many Michigan agencies are working together to reduce these numbers.

Michigan law makes it illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at or above the legal limit of 0.08. It is also against the law to drive while impaired by any amount of alcohol, illegal drugs and prescription drugs, even if your BAC is under 0.08. It is also illegal to drive with any amount of cocaine or a Schedule I drug in your body. This includes heroin, LSD and ecstasy. Even marijuana is considered a Schedule I drug, even though it is legal for medical use in Michigan.

The laws are even stricter for motorists under the age of 21, since that is the age when alcohol use becomes legal in the state. Michigan has a zero tolerance law, making it against the law to buy, consume or possess any amount of alcohol. You can have alcohol in your vehicle as long as you have a passenger who is age 21 or older. If you do not have someone at least 21 years old in your vehicle, and you are stopped by police, you could be charged with a misdemeanor.

Operating While Intoxicated

Operating while intoxicated (OWI) is the most common drunk driving charges. It includes three different types of violations:

  1. Having a BAC of 0.08 or above based on a chemical test (blood, breath or urine)
  2. Having any amount of alcohol or drugs in your body and experiencing impairment (you can have a BAC below 0.08 and still be arrested and charged)
  3. Aggravated DUI (BAC of 0.17 or above)

Seek Defense for Your DUI Charge

A DUI charge is often a misdemeanor, but it comes with serious penalties. You could face jail time, license suspension, hefty fines and more.

If you are facing such charges, don’t fight them alone. To reduce your charges and penalties, seek legal help from the aggressive criminal defense attorneys at Nickola Law. To see how we can help you, give us a call at (810) 767-5420 or visit our website.


Nickola Law past results are not express or implied prediction of future success, and should not be construed as such. Past results cannot guarantee future performance. Any result in a single case is not meant to create an expectation of similar results in future matters because each case involves many factors, therefore, results will differ on a case-by-case basis. This website is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of an attorney/client relationship. Testimonials are not a guarantee, warranty, or prediction of the outcome of your case. By providing certain contact information herein, you are expressly authorizing the recipient of this message to contact you via the methods of communication provided.

*Personal Injury Only

Call Now Button